Itasca Symphony Orchestra

/Itasca Symphony Orchestra
Itasca Symphony Orchestra 2021-11-10T15:38:52-06:00

Join the Orchestra

Local musicians are welcome to join the orchestra! Our musicians came from a variety of backgrounds and experience levels: many of our symphony members played in college, several have degrees in music, one member began learning as an adult, and one musician learned violin in our strings program and has a child in our strings program today.


The Itasca Symphony Orchestra performs three concerts each year at the Wilcox Theater in the Reif Center in Grand Rapids, Minnesota.


In the eight to nine weeks leading up to each performance, the ISO rehearses on Monday nights from 6:30-8:30 pm in the band room of the Robert J. Elkington Middle School in Grand Rapids.

Please contact us with any questions, requests for more information, or to tell us that you plan to join the ISO!

IOSP Concerts & Events | Watch & learn more …

Keith Swanson, Symphony Conductor

Conductor Keith Swanson, orchestra musicians and IOSP staff celebrated his 20th anniversary with the ISO in May of 2012. As a graduate of the University of Minnesota (UMD), he recently retired as the Director of Music at Hermantown High School. He also has conducted the UMD Symphony Orchestra and orchestras for the Northland Opera Theater Experience and Colder by the Lake. As an avid opera fan and Music Director of Duluth’s Lyric Opera of the North (LOON), he has conducted for productions of Offenbach’s Tales of Hoffman, Mozart’s Magic Flute, Britten’s Midsummer Night’s Dream, Handel’s Semele, Menotti’s Amahl and the Night Visitors, Puccini’s Gianni Schicchi, Mascagni’s Cavalleria Rusticana and Gilbert and Sullivan’s The Mikado. Once each summer you may also catch him playing French Horn in the Coleraine City Band under the direction of ISO’s trombone player, Tom Patnaude. You may also engage him in any discussion about the Minnesota Twins or Vikings.


Violin I
Mary LaPlant, concertmaster
Kristine Arntson
Becky Kuntz

Violin II
Amanda Wirta
Katy Hafar
Kolton Graf
Kelli Bishop


Jesse Davis

Julie Takkunen

Becky Loomis
Elise Campbell
Elise Sperling

Aaron Swanson
Kirsten Siegle
Lila Dezelske

Jan McKinney
Kelly Yurecko
Chris Bolstad


Kim Young
Lynnea Iverson

Amber Bolstad

French Horn

Deena Skaja

Heidi Wick

Brianna Roberts

Tom Nelson
Darrol Schmidt

Phil Kneeland

Peter Kneeland


Zeb Nurenburg

Suzanne Allen

French Horn
Deena Skaja
Heidi Wick
Brianna Roberts
Hannah Erickson

Carmen Heinecke
Cassie Thuen
Michael Wourms
Dan Carlson

Thomas Patnaude
Ellen Bogardus-Szymaniak
David Grosland